2003-08-25 : 5:53 a.m.
<- I need a vacation ->


OK OK OK!

Here it is another entry....but I am warning you I am on to your game Grimm! You just wanted everyone to read that last post where I said all those sweet things about you :-P

Anyway I suppose I should use this as an outlet instead of boring Grimm to tears with my neverending blather ( yes it is the sound of snoring you hear), but lets face it I am incredibly busy what with the saving lives all night, growing a new life 24/7 and constantly working to ruin the lives of my two lovely children whenever I am not working....how do I really have time to adequately irritate the masses? (Generally speaking I choose to do that at work as well, and gosh I must be good at it...hmmm.....)

Not to mention the hours I spend sleeping. :-)

But anyway timeline update for anyone who cares..... Grimm and I have reconciled...We found out we are to be parents again (inwardly questioning the judgement of the ethereal being....ok not really but I like self depreciating humor)....he is searching for a job.....I think the search might be about to end (please, ethereal being, please)...and so here we are.

Pardon me for being a bit cynical....I think I need a vacation. I work as a nurse in an intensive care unit of a teaching hospital here in the Midwest. I might add its not a teaching hospital in an exciting area so you can imagine wich medical students have chosen this hospital as their practice of choice.... But I digress. Its been a slow summer..no major motor vehicle accidents only one fire and actually the gangs haven't been as active as they used to be. So my summer has been filled with 90 year olds that can't breath (yes this is important work, it just doesn't lend itself to lots of excitment or job fulfillment...I am adrenaline junkie I can now admit that), quasi-ODs, belligerent OD's, and I-didn't-really-mean-to-suicide attempts (its ok we live here too we know how hard it is). See I really do need a vacation! I used to be so caring, I think I traded competence for caring. I can do just about everything anymore (in terms of what is required by my job), on a regular basis I am the one they run to with their questions of how and why...and yet I used to care...now ummmm...not so much? That isn't to say I don't want the best for my patients. I really, really do. But I wonder if I want the best more because it is a reflection of my work and because well generally speaking I don't like for people to hurt (that would entail me getting up to give pain medicine). I also wonder if its just a protective shield...lets face it sometimes we lose...and its easier when you haven't formed bonds with them or their families. I guess we'll never really know.

Then we have the afore mentioned medical residents....you know the old joke about it being weird that doctors call what they do "practice"...well in most of these residents' cases its a realtively accurate statement. (WARNING NEVER GET SICK IN JULY!...thats when the brand-new-never-seen-a-hospital medical residents/interns arrive) Hmmm....what day is it? August? Maybe thats my problem...they are new and stupid, but they think they are THE doctors so they don't have to listen to me. After all I am just a nurse...and lets face it why would they listen to me....I have just been taking care of people and saving lives since they were in High School. I am sure they know lots more....(forgive the sarcasm break). Add to the new doctors, new nurses (they graduate in may take their tests in June and viola here they are to benevolently teach me all the things they know that I just evidently don't). For anyone who doesn't know....a new grad RN is something akin to a 16 year old....and should be revered as the guru of all. In other words they haven't got a clue what they don't know yet and really are not inclined to learn. What they really want to do is push the little blue button (its the code button...you know like on TV "CODE BLUE...etc etc etc"), and defibrillate someone, (hehehehe so do the interns/residents and they usually win) so its rare that a new nurse actually gets to shock anyone...at least intentionally so.

Oh well in a few years they will all have either killed several people and been alleviated of their respective licenses or they too will be cynical and callus...like me :-(

Wonder if its too late for me to be a teacher?


The current mood of indianannie@yahoo.com at www.imood.com
Last Five Entries
- - 2004-03-02
Coming Soon - 2003-12-01
what if........ - 2003-09-25
I need a vacation - 2003-08-25
Fianlly he sleeps..... - 2003-06-28


<- | ->

Template by Lucky Designs, heavily modified by Mr. Grimm